It’s critical to know the rules of the road before you get behind the wheel of a car. But for most of us, it’s been a long time since we sat for our driver’s license exam. It’s likely we forget – or maybe never even learned – some of them. To see how well you know your driving laws, take our rules of the road quiz below and let us know how you do!
Unless otherwise stated, all questions refer to driving laws in the six states in AAA Northeast’s territory: Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York and Rhode Island. Similarly, all mentions of the term “Northeast states” refer to the aforementioned six states.
*In New Jersey and Rhode Island, headlights are required to be on from sunset to sunrise.
^In New Hampshire, the age limit is 7
#New York has no such law while New Jersey’s ban only applies to those with a learner’s examination permit. All Northeast states ban handheld cell phones and texting while driving for ALL drivers.
**In New Jersey, the property damage threshold is $500
^^In New Jersey, the requirement is 20/50
Whether you’re just beginning your driving career or are a long-time driver looking to improve your skills, AAA has you covered. Learn more about our Driver Training program and Defensive Driving courses.
12 Thoughts on “The Rules of the Road Quiz”
Someone needs to check the math. I had 5 out of 12 wrong. How does that compute to 50%??
I had only 4/12 wrong that would be 66.66… percent correct not 50.
It is a great idea to remind us about the importance of reviewing traffic laws again years after we have taken the driving test. Having a deadly accident or getting a fine is not a good or useful reminder. Thank you!!!
I expected much different questions with this quiz. Most drivers don’t know the local laws of driving where I live. Like signaling when you change lanes ( it is the law) Only using the speed lane when passing ( use to be the law ) And curtesy in general.
I was disappointed at the number of questions that had nothing to do with driving in this area. Knowing which State has a blood alcohol max of 0.5? or knowing which State doesn’t require seatbelts. I take the AAA safety class every 3 years. It teaches about my State. I had hopped to do better on this quiz.
Like Kathleen, I marked the question about cellphones false because I too thought it was against the law for everyone.
Set up a quiz asking to answer questions related to speed, penalties,etc
These self tests are always helpful in that they inform and provide review about important laws. However, your “hook” at the beginning of this exercise referred to how well I knew the laws in “my” state. Could I pass that test again. I don’t recall questions about other states being on my license exam. Somewhat misleading.
I think Q-1 is somewhat bogus because although you need your lights on with the 1/2 hour rule it is much more important to put them on in conditions of insufficient light which many morons don’t do. This option shouldn’t be on the question. I’ve been driving some 60 years and when working, as a Construction Engineer, sometimes 1000 miles per week. I’ve seen and been through a lot on the road.
Article referred to knowing your states rules but clearly this was not correct.
The question about the use of cellphones are banned by drivers under the age of 18 I believe has an incorrect answer. I put false because no drivers no matter what their age are permitted to use a cellphone while driving. Maybe someone can explain the answer or maybe this is a trick question.
Hi Kathleen, thanks for taking the quiz! Most states allow adult drivers to use cellphones if they are hands-free. However, these states do not allow drivers under the age of 18 to use hands-free or handheld cellphones while driving.